The U.S. Constitution grants all legislative powers to a bicameral Congress: a House of Representatives and a Senate. Each member of the House serves a two-year term with seats being apportioned by state according to population. In the Senate, voters of each state elect two Senators who serve six-year terms. The two chambers are fundamentally equal in their legislative roles and functions. The enactment of law always requires both chambers to separately agree to the same bill in the same form before presenting it to the President. For more information, click here for a detailed overview of the legislative process.

The Tennessee School Boards Association aims to equip our members with the resources they need to understand federal legislation that impacts state and local education and encourages all members to engage in advocacy at the federal level.